top of page


Introduced in 2021, the great rivalry of the SQAFA era is relived in the first clash of the season between the Mt Gravatt Vultures & Sherwood Magpies, where the winner takes home the ‘Pelly-Selvage’ Cup and the Best on Ground awarded the ‘Butler-Hammond’ medal.

During the 70’s and 80’s these proud clubs had the fiercest of rivalries. Between 1970 and 1983 Mt Gravatt & Sherwood shared all fourteen SQAFA (The Association) Premierships.

An excerpt from ‘More of the Kangaroo’…
During 1973, Mt Gravatt lost only two ‘home-and-away’ games and they were well on their way to their third consecutive flag. Charlie Tipungwuti arrived at the Vultures from the Tiwi Islands and he set the competition alight. The Vultures dismantled Sherwood by 83 points in the 1973 Second Semi-Final. After Sherwood had regrouped to make the Grand Final, the Magpies announced in the lead up to the big game that two of their forwards, Ken Kassulke and Ken Tolleneare, would be interstate and therefore unavailable. Long term Magpie player, coach and supporter, Kev Kluver revealed what happened on Grand Final Day in 1973: ‘We smuggled [Kassulke and Tolleneare] into the ground, and at that stage you didn’t have to have the team sheet in until quarter-time. So the team ran on and within thirty seconds of the start Tolleneare and Kassulke ran off the bench. And that’s where we won the Grand Final. The Mt Gravatt blokes just lost it. We finished up winning it by four points’.


Dennis Pelly…
An excerpt from ‘Vale Denis Pelly 1949-2019’.
Denis had a distinguished AFL career playing in the QAFL with Mayne AFC from 1970-1976.
In 1977 Denis built a home in Rochedale and was approached to join the Mt Gravatt Football Club hoping that his proximity to Club would get him “over the line”. It did, the signing of Denis was a coup for Mt Gravatt and their prized recruit delivered big time, winning multiple Club best and fairest’s, a Competition best and fairest, and saw him playing in Grand Finals in 1978,79,80,81 and 82. 
Denis was a member of the famous Mt Gravatt victory over Coorparoo when SQAFA clubs Mt Gravatt and Sherwood were invited to participate in the QAFL pre-season competition. The victory by Mt Gravatt over Coorparoo spawned the famous cry “Coopa who?” that can still be heard around our club to this day. 
Many games against arch rivals Sherwood involved titanic centre man clashes between Denis and the Magpies Greg Butler. These clashes were season highlights and were as good as anything on offer in the QAFL at the time. These two tough, talented hard heads going at it hammer and tongs were always a delight to watch.
The Mt Gravatt Football Club recognises and honours Denis Pelly, a former player and mate, a man who represented our Club with distinction and is richly deserving of the respect that Club members, fellow team mates, and opponents so rightly bestow upon him.


Mitch Hammond…
Mitch began his time at the Vultures in the Under 15s in 1968. Graduating quickly to the senior ranks, he quickly earned a reputation as a hard, skilful, reliable defender that saw him play in the 1972 and 1974 premiership sides. Mitch was also a member of the 1983 premiership side that defeated Aspley.
Mitch was involved in the Mt Gravatt juniors over a long period, coaching and managing sides over many years. His two sons Nick and Ryan played junior footy at the Vultures and the family tradition continues to this day with Ryan still having a run in the Friday night QFA side.
After finally hanging up the boots Mitch coached the Reserves before becoming involved at committee level filling the roles of Secretary, Vice President and President over many years. Mitch is also a Life Member.


Read about Warren Selvage and Greg Butler of Sherwood here.




2024 - Sherwood 20.21.141 defeated Mt Gravatt 6.4.40. Ethan Harris (Sh) was awarded BOG.

2023 - Mt Gravatt 13.21.99 defeated Sherwood 8.4.52.  Jake Torney (MtG) was awarded BOG.

2022 - Mt Gravatt 17.11.113 defeated Sherwood 13.15.93. Todd Carbone (MtG) was awarded BOG.

2021 - Mt Gravatt 12.12.84 defeated Sherwood 9.16.70. Craig Malone (MtG) was awarded BOG.



















pelly-selvage cup.jpg
bottom of page