top of page


The Mount Gravatt Australian Football Club was formed in 1964.  Based at Ron McClennan Oval, part of the Dittmer Park precinct at Mt Gravatt, the club competes in the Queensland Australian Football League (QAFL) in the men's, Queensland Football Association Womens (QFAW) in the women's comp and the South East Queensland Juniors (SEQJ) for junior and youth footy. Nicknamed the Vultures, the club was originally a part of the South Queensland Australian Football Association (SQAFA) upon its formation, and won its first ever premiership in 1971. Mount Gravatt added further premierships in 1972, 1974 and 1983.


















By 1994, the Vultures entered the QAFL and rose to the top of the competition in 2002, defeating powerhouse Southport by 63 points in the Grand Final. Mount Gravatt defeated Southport again in 2007 to claim its second QAFL flag. In total, the Vultures have played in six QAFL Grand Finals, losing in 1996, 1997, 2003 and 2009.

In 2011, Mount Gravatt was a foundation club of the newly formed North East Australian Football League (NEAFL) and reached the finals of the Northern Conference in its first season. But at the end of the 2013 season, the club decided to opt out of the NEAFL and re-join the QAFL.

Grogan Medal

The Grogan Medal is the best-and-fairest award of the QAFL and is the highest individual honour a single player can win. Votes are awarded by the umpires to the best and fairest players of each game. The Grogan Medal is Queensland equivalent to the AFL's Brownlow Medal. Mount Gravatt has numerous Grogan Medallists. The first was in 1999 which was won by the captain, Brad Jones. The second was by another captain, Mick Stinear in 2004. This was a remarkable effort considering the Vultures finished 5th for the season. Nathan Gilliland won the medal in 2009 and the most recent winner was Frazer Neate in 2019.

Zane Taylor Medal

2019 - Andrew Smith


Joe Grant Medal

The Joe Grant Medal is awarded to the player judged best afield in the QAFL Grand Final.

Mount Gravatt has two Joe Grant Medallists. The first was Tony Lynn in the 2002 Grand Final victory and the other was Ash Evans in the 2007 Grand Final victory.


Ray Hughson Medal

The Ray Hughson Medal is awarded to the QAFL leading goal kicker at the end of the year.

Mount Gravatt has one Ray Hughson Medallist - Shane Dupuy who kicked 80 goals in the 1996 season.

QFAW Division 2 Medal

The Vultures have one medallist for the Best & Fairest in this competition (but she's won it twice!!!) Shereen Weeding was awarded this medal in 2020 & 2021.

bottom of page